Mendelssohn's Violinkonzert E-Moll

With Brussels Philharmonic, Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider & Marc Bouchkov

A measure and a half – that is the length of the most refreshing violin concerto ever.

Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto in E Minor was his last great work for orchestra, and his ticket to eternal fame. 75 years later the work has lost none of its impact to this day.

October 17, 2020 in Flagey

Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider 

Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider inaugurates his first season as Music Director of the Orchestre national de Lyon in September 2021. He conducted the Orchestra’s 2019/20 season opening concerts and together they toured Russia in February 2020. Szeps-Znaider is a regular guest conductor of the world’s leading orchestras, including the Chicago Symphony, Cleveland Orchestra, Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal, Bamberg Symphony and the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra.

Also a virtuoso violinist, Szeps-Znaider maintains his reputation as one of the world’s leading exponents of the instrument with a busy calendar of concerto and recital engagements. During the 19/20 season he appeared as soloist with the Vienna Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre National de France and Konzerthausorchester Berlin, and performed the complete Beethoven Violin Sonatas with Rudolf Buchbinder in Vienna’s Musikverein.

Marc Bouchkov

Belgian violinist of Russian heritage, Mr. Bouchkov is a sophisticated musician of impeccable aplomb and has carved an international career performing with leading orchestras and conductors across Europe. He is one of the most multifaceted and unique artists of the new generation. 

As an active recitalist, Mr. Bouchkov has performed in many of the world’s most prestigious concert halls such as Wigmore Hall, Carnegie Hall, Amsterdam’s Concertgebouw, Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, Dresden Frauenkirche, Concert Hall of St. Petersburg, Tonhalle Zürich, Munich’s Prinzregententheater, Paris’ Theatre de la Ville, Maison de Radio France, and the Konzerthaus in Berlin among several other venues. A fine chamber musician, he is a regular guest of the Verbier Festival in Switzerland.

Feldman: Rothko Chapel

With Ars Musica, Vlaams Radiokoor & George Jackson 


Claire-Mélanie Sinnhuber Chahut (world premiere, commissioned by Ars Musica)
Anna Thorvaldsdottir Streaming Arhythmia
Morton Feldman Rothko Chapel
(solo: Evi Roelants, soprano - María Gil Muñoz, alto - Mihai Cocea, viola - Anastasia Goldberg, celesta - Tom De Cock, percussion)

A meditative concert around the perception of time and provoking a sense of temporal disorientation. The concert ends with the unique vision of Morton Feldman, as expressed in one of his most illuminating works, Rothko Chapel. An impressive work, a tribute to his friend, the painter Mark Rothko. The title is based on the eponymous chapel in Houston, Texas. It is a meditative, ecumenical center and / or prayer room with paintings by Mark Rothko on the walls.

in collaboration with Ars Musica

November 6, 2020 in Flagey

Claire-Mélanie Sinnhuber 

The music of French-Swiss composer Claire-Mélanie Sinnhuber is characterised by limited sound material, stemming from the articulation of noises and pitched sounds, with a predilection for transparent and finely works textures. The result of detailed work with performers and with instruments, her research is directed towards instrumental possibilities. Her writing is nurtured by permanent confrontation with the reality of sound and the instrumental gesture. She treats the voice as one entity, that includes words, and gives vocal roles to musicians other than singers. The body therefore is also shown to be an instrument.

Anna Thorvaldsdottir

Anna Thorvaldsdottir (b. 1977) is an Icelandic composer whose music is widely performed internationally and has been commissioned by many of the world's leading orchestras, ensembles, and arts organizations - such as the Berlin Philharmonic, New York Philharmonic, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, International Contemporary Ensemble, Ensemble Intercontemporain, and Carnegie Hall.

"One of the most distinctive voices in contemporary music” (NPR). Her music is composed as much by sounds and nuances as by harmonies and lyrical material, and tends to evoke “a sense of place and personality” (NY Times) through a distinctive “combination of power and intimacy” (Gramophone).